Recent Press Releases

Washington, D.C. —  Senator John Thune today praised the introduction of a bipartisan Senate resolution of disapproval under the terms of the Congressional Review Act offered by Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK). The resolution formally states the Senate’s disapproval of the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) endangerment finding that would pave the way for expensive regulations of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gasses under the Clean Air Act. Senator Thune is an original cosponsor of the resolution.

“The EPA is using the rulemaking process to go around Congress and the American people in instituting what amounts to a national energy tax,” said Thune. “Employers in energy intensive industries like agriculture, manufacturing, and transportation would see costs rise dramatically, resulting in job losses we cannot afford. Consumers would see higher prices across the board. Congress must act to block this backdoor tax.”

Under the Congressional Review Act, a resolution of disapproval gives Congress an expedited procedure to overturn administration actions. In the U.S. Senate, if 30 Senators sign the resolution of disapproval, the resolution is discharged from committee and moves the floor and must be voted on. The resolution would need 51 votes to pass the Senate. If enacted, it would effectively stop the EPA from moving forward with regulating carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gasses.

Last fall, Senator Thune and Senator Murkowski introduced an amendment to the Interior and Environment Appropriations bill that would have prohibited the EPA from regulating carbon emissions from stationary sources, such as power plants, refineries, and factories if it would result in higher electricity or gasoline prices for consumers. That amendment was blocked by Democrat leadership in the Senate.

Earlier this week, over 100 agricultural groups sent a letter to Senator Murkowski in support of the resolution, including the South Dakota Agri-Business Association, the South Dakota Farm Bureau, the South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, the South Dakota Grain and Feed Association, South Dakota Wheat, Inc., and the South Dakota Corn Growers Association. Senators Murkowski and Thune are joined in sponsoring the resolution by over 30 Republicans and Senators Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Blanche Lincoln (D-AR), and Ben Nelson (D-NE).