Recent Press Releases

Washington, D.C. —  Senator John Thune reminded South Dakota residents and business owners of the approaching deadline for applying for Individual Assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in the 11 counties which sustained damage during the severe storms, floods, and tornadoes earlier this year. July 23rd, 2007 is the last day applications will be accepted for Individual Assistance and U.S. Small Business Administration loans for home owners or renters to repair or replace damaged real estate or personal property.

"Disaster assistance is an important part of the economic recovery process," said Thune. I encourage all of those affected by the natural emergencies to explore all avenues for assistance in restoring their lives and livelihoods."

The eleven South Dakota counties that have been declared eligible for Individual Assistance are Beadle, Brown, Clark, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Marshall, Miner, Sanborn, Spink and Yankton.

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge those who have not applied, to do so as soon as possible by calling the toll-free application number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired. Individuals may also register for disaster assistance at the FEMA website

After the application deadline on July 23, FEMA's toll-free phone lines will still be available to assist those who have already registered. Applicants who have questions about the disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of their previously filed applications should continue to use FEMA's toll-free number.

People can also access state assistance by calling South Dakota's help line at 1-866-737-8998 from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Monday through Friday and 9 a.m. -1 p.m. on Saturdays, until further notice. This number can also be used to request face-to-face assistance with the disaster aid registration process.