Recent Press Releases

WASHINGTON, D.C.—U.S. Senator John Thune (R-South Dakota), ranking member of the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee, today welcomed new and returning Republican members to the committee:

“In the 114th Congress, the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee will work to advance solutions that help create jobs, grow the economy, and improve Americans’ daily lives, and I’m fortunate to be joined in this endeavor by a strong group of Republican members. From transportation and Internet policy to consumer protection and more, we have much work ahead of us, but I know Republicans on the Commerce Committee are ready to roll up their sleeves and get to work.”

The Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee has wide jurisdiction over matters relating to the U.S. Department of Transportation with respect to highway safety, commercial motor carriers, railroads, buses, vessels, pipelines, inland waterways, and civil and commercial aviation; the U.S. Department of Commerce regarding weather and atmospheric activities at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, marine fisheries and navigation, science and technology research and development; telecommunications policy and the Internet; U.S. Coast Guard and Merchant Marine; National Aeronautics and Space Administration regarding nonmilitary aeronautical and space sciences; regulation of consumer products via the Consumer Product Safety Commission; the Federal Trade Commission; and sports.

With Republican and Democrat senators now named to the Commerce Committee, the subcommittee selection process will begin, enabling the committee to be formalized as early as the first full week of January, after the 114th Congress convenes.

Below is the full list of Republican members of the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee:


John Thune, South Dakota

Roger Wicker, Mississippi

Roy Blunt, Missouri

Marco Rubio, Florida

Kelly Ayotte, New Hampshire

Dean Heller, Nevada

Ted Cruz, Texas

Deb Fischer, Nebraska

Dan Sullivan, Alaska

Jerry Moran, Kansas

Ron Johnson, Wisconsin

Cory Gardner, Colorado

Steve Daines, Montana

Last week, the following Democrat senators were named to the Commerce Committee:

Bill Nelson, Florida

Maria Cantwell, Washington

Claire McCaskill, Missouri

Amy Klobuchar, Minnesota

Richard Blumenthal, Connecticut

Brian Schatz, Hawaii

Ed Markey, Massachusetts

Cory Booker, New Jersey

Tom Udall, New Mexico

Joe Manchin, West Virginia

Gary Peters, Michigan