Recent Press Releases

Washington, D.C. —  Senator John Thune tonight announced that 10 counties in South Dakota have qualified for a Presidential disaster declaration due to the severe storms that ravaged the area earlier this month.

"This assistance is welcome news to the hundreds of South Dakota families dealing with the aftermath of these destructive storms," said Thune. "After visiting this region there was no question in my mind that assistance from FEMA was crucial to the cleanup, repair, and recovery. My staff and I have been in constant contact with the Administration expressing the need for federal assistance. I expect that this assistance will come quickly, so those that have already suffered so much can get the help they need."

FEMA will make available $7 million for individual assistance for the following 10 counties: Beadle, Brown, Clark, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Miner, Sanborn, Spink, and Yankton. This assistance may include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Additionally, hazard mitigation funding is available to all counties in the state to assist with sustained mitigation measures that will reduce or permanently eliminate the long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards and their effects.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance tomorrow by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (local time) Monday thru Sunday.