Recent Press Releases

Washington, D.C. —  Senator John Thune announced today that the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has made disaster assistance loans available for small businesses and small agricultural cooperatives that are unable to secure credit in their designated counties. These loans are intended to help those small businesses impacted by lost revenues to farmers and ranchers who experienced disastrous weather earlier this year. Small businesses may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses that would have been covered had the disaster not happened.

"This is a good alternative for small businesses that were impacted by severe weather this past summer," said Thune. "It is important to help small business owners across South Dakota, and the country, to be successful when factors beyond their control negatively impact their business."

Small businesses in the following counties are eligible to apply for loans due to high winds, rain, and hail that occurred between June 2, 2008 and July 31, 2008: Bon Homme, Brown, Brule, Campbell, Charles Mix, Clark, Codington, Davison, Day, Deuel, Dewey, Douglas, Edmunds, Grant, Gregory, Haakon, Hanson, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jones, Lake, Lyman, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Minnehaha, Roberts, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Tripp, Turner, Walworth, Yankton, and Ziebach.

For information and applications please contact the SBA at 605-330-4243. The deadline for application is June 10, 2009.