Social Security Administration: Description

The Social Security Administration (SSA) is headed by a Commissioner and has a staff of over 65, 000 employees within an organizational structure of 13 offices. SSA’s central office is located in Baltimore, Maryland. The field organization, which is decentralized to provide services at the local level, includes 10 regional offices, six processing centers, and approximately 1300 field offices. The SSA is divided into communications, disability/income security, finance and management, human resources, legislative affairs, operations, policy, and systems. The SSA provides benefits and services to people of retirement age and to individuals with disabilities that prevent them from working. The Social Security Act was signed by President Franklin Roosevelt on August 14, 1935. Taxes were collected for the first time in January 1937 and the first one-time, lump-sum payments were made that same month. Regular ongoing monthly benefits started in January 1940.

Social Security Administration: Requirements

If you are experiencing a problem with the Social Security Administration, please complete, print, and sign the Privacy Act waiver.  You may fax or mail the completed form with any supporting documentation to the office that serves your area.
If you have any questions, please call our Washington Office at 866-850-3855.