Department of Justice: Description

The United States Department of Justice was established in June of 1870 with the Attorney General as its head. There are currently forty separate components of the Justice Department. These include the United States Attorneys who prosecute offenders and represent the United States Government in court; the major investigative agencies—the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Drug Enforcement Administration and the Bureau of Alcohol, tobacco, Firearms and Explosives—which prevent and deter crime and arrest criminal suspects; the United States Marshals Service which protects the federal judiciary, apprehends fugitives and detains persons in federal custody; and the Bureau of prisons which confines convicted offenders. The litigating division enforce federal criminal and civil laws, including civil rights, tax, antitrust, environmental, and civil justice statutes. The Office of Justice Programs and the Office of Community Oriented Policing Services provide leadership and assistance to state, tribal, and local governments. Other major departmental components include the National Drug Intelligence Center, the United States Trustees, the Justice Management Division, the Executive Office for Immigration Review, the Community Relations Service, and the Office of the Inspector General. Although headquartered in Washington, D.C., the Department conducts much of its work in offices located throughout the country and overseas.

Department of Justice: Requirements

If you are experiencing a problem with Justice Department, please complete, print, and sign the Privacy Act waiver.  You may fax or mail the completed form with any supporting documentation to the office that serves your area.
If you have any questions, please call our Washington Office at 866-850-3855.